This is an archived copy of the 2016-17 catalogue. To access the most recent version of the catalogue, please visit

University Administration and Governance

The University of Vermont combines elements of a private and public institution, a unique arrangement that is reflected in the makeup of the Board of Trustees.

The Board, which has full legal responsibility and authority for the university, consists of 25 members: nine legislative; nine self-perpetuating; three gubernatorial; two students; and two ex-officio members: the governor of Vermont and the president of the university.

The Trustees set and approve policies, budgets and strategic planning, and they have the authority to award honorary degrees and appoint the president of the university.

The administration, led by the president and the senior vice president/provost, and the Faculty Senate share responsibility in managing the university’s academic affairs.

The Staff Council works with the administration on issues and policies that affect university staff.

The Student Government Association and Graduate Student Senate also play advisory roles to the administration, as well as recognizing student clubs and organizations and allocating funding.

The Board of Trustees

Peter ShumlinGovernor, ex officio
E. Thomas SullivanPresident, ex officio

Term Ending March 2017

Bill BotzowBennington, Vermont
David R. BrandtUnderhill, Vermont
Frank J. CioffiSt. Albans, Vermont
Joan G. LenesShelburne, Vermont
Kesha K. RamBurlington, Vermont

Term Ending March 2018

Robert P. Brennan, Jr.Chappaqua, New York
Richard L. GamelliNew London, New Hampshire
Soraiya ThuraFalls Church, Virginia
Lisa M. VentrissSouth Burlington, Vermont

Term Ending March 2019

Carolyn K. DwyerMontpelier, Vermont
Anne T. O'BrienRichmond, Vermont
Donna G. SweaneyWindsor, Vermont
Jeff WilsonManchester Center, Vermont

Term Ending March 2020

Cynthia L. BarnhartWellesley, Massachusetts
Ron E. LumbraRye, New York
Donald H. McCreeRye, New York

 Term Ending March 2021

Bernard C. JuskiewiczCambridge, Vermont
Curt McCormackBurlington, Vermont
Ed PaganoWashington, D.C.
Tristan D. TolenoBrattleboro, Vermont

 Term Ending March 2022

Briar L. AlpertCharlotte, Vermont
David B. AronoffNewton, Massachusetts
David A. DaigleGreenwich, Connecticut


Sullivan, E. Thomas, J.D.President
Rosowsky, David V., Ph.D.Senior Vice President and Provost
Bazluke, Francine T., J.D.Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel
Derr, Gary, Ed.D.Vice President for Executive Operations
Gustafson, Thomas J., Ed.D. Vice President for University Relations and Administration
Heading-Grant, Wanda, Ed.D.Vice President for Human Resources, Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
Cate, Richard, MPAVice President for Finance and Treasurer
Bundy III, Richard, MBACEO and President of the UVM Foundation
Stacey Kostell, MAVice President for Enrollment Management
Richard Galbraith, M.D. Ph.D.Vice President for Research
Saule, Mara, MLSChief Information Officer and Dean, Libraries and Learning Resources
Stevens, Annie, Ph.D.Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Nestor, David A., Ed.D.Dean of Students
Belliveau, Cynthia, Ed.D.Dean, Continuing and Distance Education
Garcia, Luis, Ph.D.Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
Morin, Frederick C. III, M.D.Dean, College of Medicine
Lantagne, Douglas O., Ph.D.Dean, Extension System
Falls, William A., Ph.D.Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Thomas, Scott, Ph.D.Dean, College of Education and Social Services
Prelock, Patricia A., Ph.D.Dean, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Schnell, Lisa, Ph.D.Interim Dean, Honors College
Sharma, Sanjay Ph.DDean, Grossman School of Business
Vogelmann, Thomas C., Ph.D.Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Matthews, Nancy E., Ph.D.Dean, Rubenstein School of the Environment and Natural Resources
Forehand, Cynthia, Ph.D.Dean, Graduate College