This is an archived copy of the 2017-18 catalogue. To access the most recent version of the catalogue, please visit

University Administration and Governance

The University of Vermont combines elements of a private and public institution, a unique arrangement that is reflected in the makeup of the Board of Trustees.

The Board, which has full legal responsibility and authority for the university, consists of 25 members: nine legislative; nine self-perpetuating; three gubernatorial; two students; and two ex-officio members: the governor of Vermont and the president of the university.

The Trustees set and approve policies, budgets and strategic planning, and they have the authority to award honorary degrees and appoint the president of the university.

The administration, led by the president and the senior vice president/provost, and the Faculty Senate share responsibility in managing the university’s academic affairs.

The Staff Council works with the administration on issues and policies that affect university staff.

The Student Government Association and Graduate Student Senate also play advisory roles to the administration, as well as recognizing student clubs and organizations and allocating funding.

The Board of Trustees

Phil Scott Governor, ex officio
E. Thomas Sullivan President, ex officio

Term Ending March 2018

Robert P. Brennan Chappaqua, New York
Richard L. Gamelli New London, New Hampshire
Soraiya Thura Falls Church, Virginia
Lisa M. Ventriss South Burlington, Vermont

Term Ending March 2019

Carolyn K. Dwyer Montpelier, Vermont
Caitlin McHugh Nassau, New York
Anne T. O'Brien Richmond, Vermont
Donna G. Sweaney Windsor, Vermont
Jeff Wilson Manchester Center, Vermont

Term Ending March 2020

Cynthia L. Barnhart Wellesley, Massachusetts
Ron E. Lumbra Rye, New York
Donald H. McCree Rye, New York

Term Ending March 2021

Bernard C. Juskiewicz Cambridge, Vermont
Curt McCormack Burlington, Vermont
Ed Pagano Washington, D.C.
Tristan D. Toleno Brattleboro, Vermont

 Term Ending March 2022

Briar L. Alpert Charlotte, Vermont
David B. Aronoff Newton, Massachusetts
David A. Daigle Greenwich, Connecticut

 Term Ending March 2023

John L. Bartholomew Hartland, Vermont
Frank J. Cioffi South Burlington, Vermont
Johannah Leddy Donovan Burlington, Vermont
Shapleigh Smith, Jr. Morrisville, Vermont


Sullivan, E. Thomas, J.D. President
Rosowsky, David V., Ph.D. Provost and Senior Vice President
Bazluke, Francine T., J.D. Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel
Derr, Gary, Ed.D. Vice President for Executive Operations
Gustafson, Thomas J., Ed.D. Vice President for University Relations and Administration
Heading-Grant, Wanda, Ed.D. Vice President for Human Resources, Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
Cate, Richard, M.P.A Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
Sharon Reich Paulsen, J.D. Chief of Staff and Senior Counsel to the President
William Harrison, M.B.A. Chief Internal Auditor
Mark Dorgan, M.M.C. Executive in Charge of the UVM Foundation
Stacey Kostell, M.A. Vice President for Enrollment Management
Richard Galbraith, M.D. Ph.D. Vice President for Research
Saule, Mara, M.L.S Chief Information Officer and Dean, Libraries and Learning Resources
Stevens, Annie, Ph.D. Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Nestor, David A., Ed.D. Dean of Students
Belliveau, Cynthia, Ed.D. Dean, Continuing and Distance Education
Garcia, Luis, Ph.D. Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
Morin, Frederick C. III, M.D. Dean, Larner College of Medicine
Falls, William A., Ph.D. Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Thomas, Scott, Ph.D. Dean, College of Education and Social Services
Prelock, Patricia A., Ph.D. Dean, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Jenemann, David, Ph.D. Acting Dean, Honors College
Sharma, Sanjay Ph.D Dean, Grossman School of Business
Vogelmann, Thomas C., Ph.D. Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Matthews, Nancy E., Ph.D. Dean, Rubenstein School of the Environment and Natural Resources
Forehand, Cynthia, Ph.D. Dean, Graduate College