University Administration and Governance

The University of Vermont combines elements of a private and public institution, a unique arrangement that is reflected in the makeup of the Board of Trustees.

The Board, which has full legal responsibility and authority for the university, consists of 25 members: nine legislative; nine self-perpetuating; three gubernatorial; two students; and two ex-officio members: the governor of Vermont and the president of the university.

The Trustees set and approve policies, budgets and strategic planning, and they have the authority to award honorary degrees and appoint the president of the university.

The administration, led by the president and the senior vice president/provost, and the Faculty Senate share responsibility in managing the university’s academic affairs.

The Staff Council works with the administration on issues and policies that affect university staff.

The Student Government Association and Graduate Student Senate also play advisory roles to the administration, as well as recognizing student clubs and organizations and allocating funding.

The Board of Trustees

Phil Scott Governor, ex officio
E. Thomas Sullivan President, ex officio

Term Ending March 2019

Carolyn K. Dwyer Essex, Vermont
Caitlin McHugh Nassau, New York
Anne T. O'Brien Richmond, Vermont
Donna G. Sweaney Windsor, Vermont
Jeff Wilson Manchester Center, Vermont

Term Ending March 2020

Cynthia L. Barnhart Wellesley, Massachusetts
Sidney JB Hilker Burlington, Vermont
Ron E. Lumbra Rye, New York
Donald H. McCree Rye, New York

Term Ending March 2021

Bernard C. Juskiewicz Cambridge, Vermont
Curt McCormack Burlington, Vermont
Ed Pagano Washington, D.C.
Tristan D. Toleno Brattleboro, Vermont

 Term Ending March 2022

Briar L. Alpert Charlotte, Vermont
David B. Aronoff Newton, Massachusetts
David A. Daigle Greenwich, Connecticut

 Term Ending March 2023

John L. Bartholomew Hartland, Vermont
Frank J. Cioffi South Burlington, Vermont
Johannah Leddy Donovan Burlington, Vermont
Shapleigh Smith, Jr. Morrisville, Vermont

Term Ending March 2024

Robert P. Brennan, Jr. Pleasantville, New York
Otto G. Berkes Bedford Hill, New York
Jodi H. Goldstein Weston, Massachusetts


E. Thomas Sullivan, J.D. President
David V. Rosowsky, Ph.D. Provost and Senior Vice President
Richard Cate, M.P.A. Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
Gary Derr, Ed.D. Vice President for Executive Operations
Richard Galbraith, M.D., Ph.D. Vice President for Research
Thomas J. Gustafson, Ed.D. Vice President for University Relations and Administration
William Harrison, M.B.A. Chief Internal Auditor
Wanda Heading-Grant, Ed.D. Vice President for Human Resources, Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
Shane Jacobson, M.Ed. CEO and President of the UVM Foundation
Stacey Kostell, M.A. Vice President for Enrollment Management
Sharon Reich Paulsen, J.D. Vice President for Legal Affairs and General Counsel and Senior Advisor to the President
Annie Stevens, Ph.D. Vice Provost for Student Affairs
Cynthia Belliveau, Ed.D. Dean, Continuing and Distance Education
William A. Falls, Ph.D. Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Cynthia Forehand, Ph.D. Dean, Graduate College
Luis Garcia, Ph.D. Dean, College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
Nancy E. Matthews, Ph.D. Dean, Rubenstein School of the Environment and Natural Resources
Frederick C. Morin III, M.D. Dean, Larner College of Medicine
David A. Nestor, Ed.D. Dean of Students
Patricia A. Prelock, Ph.D. Dean, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Mara Saule, M.L.S. Chief Information Officer and Dean, Libraries and Learning Resources
Lisa Schnell, Ph.D. Interim Dean, Honors College
Sanjay Sharma, Ph.D. Dean, Grossman School of Business
Scott Thomas, Ph.D. Dean, College of Education and Social Services
Thomas C. Vogelmann, Ph.D. Dean, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences