Exchange Programs with New England State Universities

The six New England land-grant universities (Universities of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut) participate in an exchange program to enable students at the subdegree level to take advantage of a course or combination of courses not available at the home institution. In order to participate in the program, state university students must:

  1. Identify a course or combination of courses related to their area of academic interest and not available on the home campus.
  2. Receive permission from the appropriate university exchange authorities at both the sending and receiving institutions.
  3. Meet minimum eligibility requirements which include the following: students must be in good standing and have at least a 2.50 grade-point average; must be degree candidates; and must be at least first semester sophomores (application may be made as early as the second semester of the first year). There is no upper limit in terms of class standing on participation.

Exchanges may not exceed a total period of two academic semesters, but these need not be taken consecutively. Summer sessions are not considered part of the exchange program. Course work approved by the student’s host institution and completed satisfactorily is fully transferable to the home institution. Transferability of grades and inclusion in grade-point averages are subject to home institutional policy.

The student will pay normal tuition and required fees to the home institution and room and board (where applicable) to the host institution. Students on financial aid must contact their home institution’s financial aid office to determine eligibility for continued scholarship assistance.

Participation in the exchange program will not affect a student’s residence status either at the home or host institution, nor does participation improve or prejudice possibilities for transfer.